RADAR – Show Me How

Thank you everyone for such a brilliant workshop this evening.

So much going on my head is still spinning.

This evening at the Organ Grinder from 6pm – 8.30pm I ran a free crochet and knitting workshop, one in a number of workshops taking place as part of Show Me How by artist Ania Bas for RADAR’s Market Town project.

The focus of my workshop was the use of unusual and FREE materials to crochet or knit with. This evening we used plarn, or plastic bags. The reason behind this unusual choice of material was it’s inherent use in activism or Craftivism. It is a great material to have in your arsenal if you wish to create a yarn bomb for your town or city as it does not get soggy the second it rains.

A number of participants were new to either knitting or crochet or both, but despite this the progress made in the room was extrordinary and I was very chuffed. I had to ping pong between people a bit to show everyone the basics but I hope that everyone got enough time with me. Thank you to everyone for your patience whilst I made my way around the room.

I hope that the workshop has inspired everyone to go away and get crafty. Well done to the 3 guys who came on a whim, you did brilliant and I would love to know if you have kept it up.

A great big thank you to Ania for all your help and encouraging comments.

I look forward to the next session on the 11th July in Loughbrough Carillon Shopping Centre.

Unfortunately I was so busy bouncing round the room that I failed to get any photo’s.

Leave a Reply

